Welcome 2013

Yes finally I am up to writing about 2013, only what to say…

I expect this year like the last to hold many celebrations, we have engagements and weddings booked in and of course the fun hens day and bucks shows to accompany them. We are expecting a small army of little babies from friends and family which is so very exciting. I just love having little babies to spoil and snuggle and cuddle!

Already though I have had to say goodbye to a friend and as hopeful as I am that is the only funeral I will need to attend, no one knows what is in store for the year.

I think that is what makes the beginning of the year so exciting and so frightening all at the same time. There is so much to look forward to so much to already be thankful for, a fresh start to all your plans, your goals, it is a clean start. But you never know what will happen until it does and that is scary, that causes pause and it causes hesitation.

The best we can do is try to live each day to the fullest, and yes that is a cliché but it is one that works it is one that really does hold the fullest potential of who we are, who we want to become and how we get there.

So in saying that to help reach my fullest potential this year I am going to TRY and make some changes. This is hard for me as I am not usually a planner, I take each day as it comes however, I have realised that does not mean that I make the most of each of those days, so this year I plan on making a plan.

The idea is that maybe if I record a few of the things that this year I would like to achieve then I can genuinely work towards them and I can be held accountable for those actions. So here goes it is a bit of a mixture of emotional goals, as well as parenting goals.

* I want to seriously work on my patience, I mean very seriously. I am not a patient person I have never been a patient person but I intend on trying very hard to improve this. I don’t believe that I can be the best parent I can be without having a little more patience so this is a very high priority for me.

* I need to improve my organisation! this is my first step making a plan, plans mean I am organised right? It never ceases to amaze me that I can plan a whole wedding from start to finish and have it run without a hitch to schedule, but I cannot make it to playgroup on time with only myself Master 5 and Master 1. I am considering setting up a checklist for each day it seems to work with the weddings maybe it could work with 2 children.

*I would like to spend some me time, in discovering what it is that I want from life (other than that holiday apartment in Rome). I want to know who I want to be, what I want to achieve. I know already I have achieved so much but for me I have always felt there is something missing and I want to be able to find that something. Maybe it means studying, maybe it means a change of jobs but this year I want to discover what it is and work towards it.

* Finally I want to search deep and decide whether or not I have the strength to try for another baby, make a decision as to whether our family is complete or if there is another little person just waiting to join us.

I know 4 goals isnt major but I think it is a start and I know that to really achieve these there is a lot of thought and action that needs to put into place so I don’t want to overdo it.

I don’t want to set unrealistic resolutions like loose 10kgs ( that would be awesome but so would winning the lottery) or stop drinking alcohol  (that is just impossible with all the celebrations this year!).

I am learning to be happy in what I have and make the most of it. I am getting healthy by being smart about the way we live and I think that along with my challenges for the year is more than enough to keep me busy and I am sure will make for some very interesting posts in 2013!

Xx

Leave a Reply

